Vehicular Manslaughter in Georgia
Did your family suffer a tragedy? A wrongful death lawyer can help
Losing someone you love is never easy, but it’s even more upsetting if that loved one was killed due to the negligent actions of somebody else. If you lost a family member in an accident caused by someone who was charged with vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide, you may be entitled to compensation.
The wrongful death lawyers from our Georgia law firm are compassionate and will listen to you to understand you and your family’s needs. Let an attorney from Gary Martin Hays & Associates take immediate and powerful action on your behalf.
Contact us today for your free and confidential consultation.
How much jail time do you get for vehicular manslaughter?
The penalty for vehicular manslaughter in the state of Georgia depends on whether you were charged with first-degree vehicular manslaughter or second-degree vehicular manslaughter.
First-degree vehicular manslaughter is considered a felony and usually results in a sentence of 3 to 15 years in prison, with no parole for at least a year and loss of your driver’s license for three years. Habitual violators are subject to stiffer penalties for first-degree vehicular manslaughter and face 5 to 20 years in jail.
Second-degree vehicular manslaughter is deemed a misdemeanor and is viewed as a much less serious crime than first-degree vehicular homicide. Second-degree vehicular manslaughter carries a penalty of up to one year in county jail and/or a fine of no more than $1,000.
Whether or not a driver was charged with first-degree or second-degree vehicular manslaughter, family members of the deceased victim have the right to file a wrongful death lawsuit and sue the responsible driver for damages.
What is the difference between first-degree vehicular manslaughter and second-degree vehicular manslaughter?
In Georgia, a person may be charged with first-degree vehicular manslaughter if they caused the death of another motorist, passenger, pedestrian, or bystander in which the driver:
- Was driving drunk, under the influence of drugs, or driving recklessly
- Was driving with a revoked license and had been previously declared a habitual violator
- Did not stop after being part of a collision (hit-and-run)
- Failed to stop for a school bus or illegally passed a school bus
- Was fleeing from law enforcement
A driver may be charged with second-degree vehicular manslaughter if they caused the death of someone else by:
- Driving over the speed limit
- Distracted driving
- Violating other traffic laws, such as going through a red light or stop sign
What damages can I sue for in a wrongful death lawsuit?
Depending on the specific circumstances of your case, you may be entitled to compensation for:
- Medical expenses
- Funeral expenses
- Lost earnings
- Lost future earnings
- Pain and suffering
In addition, an estate may need to be established to completely handle all aspects of the claim.
Every case is different, and no two clients have the same exact needs. That’s why it’s a good idea to speak with an experienced wrongful death lawyer from our Georgia law firm.
Our attorneys will listen to you, answer your questions, understand your needs, explain your legal options, and stand by your side as you pursue justice.
Let Gary Martin Hays & Associates guide you through the process
Wrongful death lawsuits are some of the most difficult and complex claims a firm can take on, but the experienced and dedicated lawyers from our Georgia law firm embrace that challenge.
Why do we tackle these tough cases? It’s because we truly care about our clients and are devoted to getting them an outcome that they can truly be happy with.
If you’ve lost a loved one in an accident involving vehicular manslaughter, you don’t have to go through the legal process alone. Our wrongful death attorneys take pride in helping Georgia families and are here for you.