Who Pays For Car Accident Compensation In Georgia?
Our attorneys fight the insurance companies to get you results
A car accident can change your life in seconds. You can sustain serious injuries that require extensive medical treatment. Your medical bills can start adding up. But you can’t go back to work because of your injury and you’re losing income. And your regular bills keep coming in. You deserve compensation for your injuries, but getting it won’t be easy.
The car accident attorneys at Gary Martin Hays & Associates can help. We’ve handled countless car accident cases and know how to deal with insurance companies to maximize your compensation. Put our aggressive representation to work for you so you can pay your bills.
Georgia is a “fault” car insurance state. This means that the driver who caused your accident is generally responsible for paying damages. What it means for you as a victim is that you have different options for seeking compensation.
You can file a claim with your own insurance company.
In Georgia, all drivers are required to carry car insurance. They must all carry minimum amounts of liability coverage, a legal term used to describe insurance coverage designed to pay for accident-related expenses in case of an accident.
All drivers in Georgia are required to have minimum amounts of liability coverage for injuries and property damage caused in a car accident. The minimum coverage is:
- $25,000 for the injury of death of one person
- $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
But the cost of a car accident often exceeds these limits. That’s why it’s a good idea to buy additional insurance coverage.
You can add several different types of optional coverage to your policy. For example, med-pay (also known as personal injury protection) can help pay the cost of your medical expenses. Collision coverage can help pay for the damage to your vehicle from the accident. And UM/UIM coverage can help pay damages if you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
You can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
Here’s what you can expect when you file an accident claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. They will likely make you an offer, but it won’t come anywhere close to covering the true cost of the wreck.
They may also suggest that you are at least partly to blame for what happened. Our attorneys take an aggressive stance with insurance companies and will work tirelessly to negotiate a better offer that covers your costs. And if they try to play games and claim you did something to cause your crash, we’ll take them on and find the facts that prove you did nothing wrong.
You can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver and the insurance company.
Sometimes, the insurance company won’t negotiate a fair settlement. If that happens, we will fight them in court to protect your rights. We’ll collect the evidence to build a strong case that shows you were not to blame and deserve to be compensated.
In Georgia, the statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits is 2 years from the date of the accident, and 4 years to file a lawsuit for property damage. Once those deadlines expire, you often cannot take legal action against the other driver’s insurance company.
Georgia also uses a modified comparative negligence rule. This means you could be found partially responsible for the accident, but can still collect damages. For example, if you are found to be 20 percent at fault for an accident, your settlement will be reduced by that amount. So if you settlement was $100,000, you would only receive $80,000.
We can help you get the money you deserve.
To get maximum compensation for your accident, put one of our experienced attorneys to work for you. Call 1-800-898-HAYS to set up a free case evaluation. We work on a contingency fee basis. You owe us nothing until we come through for you.